Reviews

Ratings

«First-class experience»

We liked everything about it. A very high quality offering. Superb breakfast, lovely room, great location.

Booking.com_Vivien [United Kingdom] - 20.07.2018

Excellent hotel

Excellent hotel. Great location on the Lake. Pool and Patio area are something special. Breakfast is really done well. Easy walk from train station.

Booking.com_Terry [United States of America] - 19.07.2018

Short break

A fabulous hotel in a great location. Everything was perfect, the room, breakfast, bar, service and most of all the beautiful view from our balcony! I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The Ticino travel card is great also and allows free travel on the bus and funicular. Also discount on lots of other modes of transportation.

Tripadadvisor_Icaz1862, Huddersfield, Regno Unito - 14.07.2018

Lovely Hotel, great location

We booked for four nights and had a wonderful stay. We arrived early and so our room was not ready. However, the staff member at reception put in a priority request for our room to be made ready; the room was ready by the requested time. All the staff we met was friendly and helpful and our room was spacious, clean and comfortable; we had a good view of the lake from our window, when looking out at an angle. The breakfast room is large and the tables well-spaced; a very good selection of food was provided. The location of the hotel is excellent, just across the road from the lake. We took the number 4 bus from the station which dropped us very close to the hotel (exit the train station from the front, not the rear, for the bus stop). If we return to Lugano, we would certainly use this hotel again.

Tripadvisor_ElizaTravellers, Mt Eliza, Australia - 10.07.2018

Very good choice

Excellent location, staff extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast very nice. Room was quaint with amazing lake view, loved the little terrace. Very reasonable cost, convenient.
Certainly would stay again.

Tripadvisor_Hockeylover59, New Jersey - 08.07.2018

Old world charm in a fabulous location

We had a lovely three days here. It is right on the lake and retains the charm of when it was built in 1906. The public areas are charming as is their little museum.
Our bedroom was absolutely fine but not as plush as some might want. That's what comes with old world charm. I'm sure it also varies with the room rate.
Breakfast excellent and the car park under the hotel a great boon.
All the staff were friendly and helpful.

Tripadvisor_Petermac99, Reading, Regno Unito - 06.07.2018

Extremely good stay

The hotel is situated right by lake Lugano, a 10 minute walk to the Casino on one side and a short bus ride from San Salvatore on the other side. It's been there for over a 100 years and it really exudes a classic old world charm. The service is awesome - we got a lot of help from the front desk. And the best part? It was all done with a smile. The rooms are well furnished with just the right mix of the modern and the vintage. The high ceilings and strong showers were particular highlights. The hotel is also equipped with a table tennis table, giant chess board and a decent swimming pool. The pool isn't very deep or big but enjoyable in the summer months nonetheless. I would definitely recommend this hotel in Lugano.

Tripadvisor_Varun S - 03.07.2018

Stellar experience!

This stellar experience started at the front desk with the friendliness of the staff, followed by the early room check in request being accommodated and an upgrade to a lake view room which was breathtaking. The hotel was clean, had an outdoor garden area with pool. There was also a bar area where we sat for a couple of drinks in the evening. The hotel is in the very upscale shopping area of the old town and across from the lake. Breakfast is typical European with the addition of scrambled eggs and bacon/sausage. Service was excellent in both bar and breakfast area. I finally want to give Teresa high praise for satisfying my request for laundry service on short notice. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel! Many thanks from your recent Texas visitors!

Booking.com_Amy, United States of America - 22.06.2018

Beautiful Hotel in Lovely Situation

Just back from a 2 centre holiday booked with Switzerland Travel Centre. Their choice in Lugano was the Hotel International au Lac. They couldn't have chosen better. Hotel is right by the lake and a few minutes walk from several restaurants. Bus stop is across the square and boarding point for boats is 5 minutes walk if that. Hotel has a beautiful garden,pool and children's play area. Breakfasts are excellent and nothing is too much trouble for staff. Really enjoyed my stay.

Tripadvisor_ guernseyliz14, Guernsey, Regno Unito - 11.06.2018

Very amazing

Everything was perfect. The breakfast time until 11:30, it is relaxing. I like the free hi-speed WiFi to your liking. Also, we enjoy the historic atmosphere of the hotel. The free bus tickets facilitate the site seeing of several places in Lugano.free! Worth a stay.

Tripadvisor_Abeer E - 10.06.2018

Short break

Lovely hotel sited in fabulous location in Lugano right on the front. Getting there if driving is straightforward enough. Parking is €20 per night, but at least it's private and safe. Hotel opens onto one of the main thoroughfares with upmarket shopping. Breakfast was a double delight..good choices with cooked food, and served from 7.30 - 11.30 am; great for that extra lie in. Choice of rooms is reflected in price..but a classic double had everything we needed. Beware of different plug sockets in Switzerland from Italy..buy before you go. Probably the highlight was the provision of free travel within the Ticino region for guests on public transport (take your vouchers). We had a great train journey to the Alps free! Worth a stay.

Tripadvisor_Contea di Armagh, Regno Unito - 08.06.2018

We had a wonderful stay and were delighted by the exceptional staff!

Fantastic rooms, excellent service, perfect location, stunning view, WiFi is fast and breakfast is served until 11:30am (with a noon check-out and area where you can store your luggage). We were also able to visit the beautiful garden pool, a relaxing oasis. Will definitely be back!

Tripadvisor_Olivia M - 07.06.2018

Best one in Lugano

The staff of the hotel and the location is the best you can find it in Switzerland. The staff is really really helpful and makes sure that you get the most comfortable and enjoyable stay in Lugano. The breakfast is the best breakfast we had in Switzerland with a very good spread. The hotel is has beautiful vintage architecture. With really nice lake views and is located right in front of lake lugano. It is very convinient from train station and lugano center. You can hop on bus number 4 and get down at piazzia luini which is the stop right outside the hotel. And lugano center is really walking distance from the hotel. The rooms are really nice and comfy to have a pleasant stay and the bathrooms are quite large and elegant too. One should definitely stay in hotel International au lac lugano for the most enjoyable stay.

Booking.com_Ishan mehta, (IN) - 03.06.2018

Fabulous View!

The view from our room was simply magical! The location could not be better with many restaurants within walking distance. Our room was a great size and the bed comfortable and clean. The hotel was listed as a 3 stars but can compete with most 4 stars. We also appreciated the convenient parking as we drove in. Overall, we had a wonderful experience at this charming hotel.

Tripadvisor_Elizabeth S - 16.05.2018

Located just in front of the lake on the walking/shopping street

The hotel interior is decorated with great sense of taste and style. Our room was very comfortable and totally equiped. Private garage was one of the criteria when we choose a hotel in the center where parking is usually a problem. Back yard with a pool and a lake view keeps your relaxing stay. The receptionist suggested us a restaurant with local cuisine and it completely matched our expectations (La Tinera). We hope to return to this great hotel for longer stay some time.

Booking.com_Maxim, (RU) - 11.05.2018

Exceeded expectations

We booked this property based on location and reviews. We arrived after a very long train trip to find we were upgraded because we paid non refundable and rooms available. Breakfast was excellent, bar was excellent, service was excellent, location was excellent. Excellent stay and highly recommend!

Tripadvisor_Thomas M - 02.05.2018

«Fabulous!!»

Fabulous breakfast with lots of hot food choices. Beautiful elegant hotel with lots of history. Pool area was lovely. We even had a lake view from our room!

Booking.com/Arleen, United States of America, - 01.05.2018

Beautiful hotel

Great hotel, beautiful, great location and great breakfast.

Booking.com_JANET - 24.04.2018

Beautiful city and hotel

The Hotel International au Lac is a beautiful old world hotel in a very nice location in Lugano. The hotel has a beautiful outdoor area with many lounge chairs, a pool, small bikes for kids, ping pong and chess. The hotel was very clean, it is an older but kept up well. Our room did accommodate two adults and two children but it was a bit small. There was a larger room for more money but we did not plan to stay in the room long. The beds were all comfortable and the balcony had a view of the lake. The breakfast was plentiful and the staff was very nice. If we return to Lugano, we would come back to this hotel.

Tripadvisor_scherrc 2018 Cantone di Zurigo, Svizzera - 23.04.2018

Living history!

We only had less than 24 hours here but loved every minute of it when in our historic hotel and room. The hotel is beautifully restored and renovated to keep it up to date yet keeps the old world charm it once had. We stayed in the canopy bedroom and love the romantic feel of it. We enjoyed hanging out at the bar on the second floor and sitting room for pre-dinner cocktails and after dinner wine. As always, I wish for more time in such lovely finds.
Tip: ask for a room with a view and balcony if you are there in the summer. Great lake views.

Tripadvisor_Paar21 Khartoum, Suda - 05.04.2018

Totally in love with this hotel!

For a tourist town like Lugano, I was surprised to find such high quality and good service at such reasonable prices during Easter holiday, so good that we extended our stay with one night. It has the perfect old world charm, you’re whisked back to 50 years ago(the hotel actually opened 100 years ago!) as every detail inside and outside your room is meticulously planned and executed. Big breakfast spread open until 11:30(!), beautiful garden with pool and sun chairs, beautiful lounge which we never used because our room 460 has the perfect balcony facing the lake. Large room and bathroom, and overall great service makes this hotel one of the loveliest places I have stayed at, much more charming than 5 star chain hotels! I would definitely return here next time I’m in town!

Tripadvisor_Andie_laShanghai Shanghai - 04.04.2018

Lovely Lugano

The location of the hotel could not be better, right by the lake and in the heart of the town. Excellent breakfast selection with dedicated table of gluten free food . Bedroom very comfortable . Spacious hotel with lovely views and small attractive garden with swimming pool. Would definitely like to return.

Tripadvisor_SuzyCue60 - 19.10.2017

Looking Forward to Coming Back

Amazing service at an older, charming property that is well maintained. Extremely well located, I even extended my stay. Step out the hotel doors to a view of the lake. Though it's close to train station, be ready for a up hill climb on the way back.

Hotels.com_Mariela - 01.10.2017

Last stayed here 60 years ago, same family ownership, same high standards, missed my parents!

A very high standard from staff and facilities and great location in city centre, could not be better. Great breakfast with very helpful staff. Best traditional Swiss standards.

Booking.com_Peter, United Kingdom - 29.09.2017

An unbelievable 3* Hotel!

Due to a generally high occupancy of 4 and 5* properties, we opted for Hotel International Au Lac. Was wondering why a 3* had such rather 4 Star rates, but this experience was simply outstanding!! Located 100 yards from the lift to the train station, footsteps from the lake and literally across from the biggest Louis Vuitton Store, which pretty much says it all. Yes the regular bar, restaurant, spa service is missing from these bigger brands, but this property has simply made our trip! I think the images speak for themselves!

Tripadvisor_Daniel-Grossmann - 28.09.2017

Beautiful hotel

A wonderful old world hotel, vey classic. A bit expensive but worth the price.
Great staff. They had a group with a special dinner and we were included, which was very nice of the staff, since I didn't feel like searching for a restaurant. The dinner was delicious.
We stayed in room 216 which had a partial view of the lake and a small balcony. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Tripadvisor_Marianne P, New York, United States - 23.09.2017

Great hotel in Lugano

We stayed here during a Rick Steve's tour of Switzerland. This is a lovely hotel. Our room was beautiful and the AC worked great. The location is one of the best in Lugano. There is shopping and many restaurants within walking distance as well as the boat cruise dock. It has a great ambience and the staff was wonderful. We enjoyed having drinks in the bar at happy hour and late at night. The breakfast was very good.

Tripadvisor_kingscommon, Phoenix, Arizona - 18.09.2017

Hotel with grace and warmth

We can't say enough about our magnificent stay. This hotel is so delightful and sophisticated. The view from the hotel is amazing. Each detail has been thought of, the food for breakfast is so delicious and the staff is all so friendly and hospitable. The hotel has been owned by the same family, since it was built and you feel at home, as well as a part of its long history as you stay - the building, staff and aura just seem to welcome you in and invite you to linger. There is a hotel museum that is fascinating and lovely artwork and historical information of the hotel's history sprinkled throughout. We loved it and truly enjoyed reading all of the wonderful history about this family.
It's a personal but elegant boutique hotel that should be experienced should your travels lead you to Lugano. What a legacy to be a part of and thank you for sharing it so intimately with your guests with the frames up the stairs, the artwork and the lovely museum. Thank you especially for being so thoughtful to leave a gift for my husband upon our arrival. He loves to journal and write - it was the perfect gift and such a lovely, welcoming gesture. We had a fantastic stay and an unforgettable time in beautiful Lugano!

Letter_Kelly and Charleston - 05.09.2017

Excellent hotel!!

This is a wonderful hotel!! In a great location. There are great views of the Lake and the location is also excellent. Rooms are very well appointed and clean. The staff at the hotel was excellent as well and quite helpful. I highly recommend!!!

Tripadvisor_SKCYCLES - 23.08.2017

Lovely hotel

The Hotel International au Lac presents old-world elegance, right near the shore of lovely Lake Lugano. There are many shops, restaurants and sights within easy walking distance, and public transportation is readily available.
The building itself is elegant, with a large breakfast room and bar on the first floor. The rooms are a good size, with nice amenities in the bath and comfortable beds, and air conditioning. There is also a pool and garden area available for use. Just remember not to take anything glass anywhere close to the pool. The area provided a nice place to have a picnic otherwise. This hotel added to the lovely Italian lake experience.

Tripadvisor_Anna H_Chicago, IL - 11.08.2017

Great value, great ambiance

Really enjoyed our stay here! The hotel has old school charm, lovely pool especially on a steamy hot day, hotel is right in the centre of town. Breakfast waitstaff are great, even remembered my husband's and my favourite beverages for breakfast without even asking. Would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for clean rooms with classic Swiss decor for a very affordable price.

Tripadvisor_ontariogirl41,Toronto - 08.08.2017

Excellent hotel

Very fine hotel, good location, the suite for familly is big and very comfortable and pretty: the beds are very comfortable to sleep. All facilities are good , nice pool and playground yard for kids. The staff very helpful, wonderfull stay! high recommended.
Tip: ask for suite near the playground yard.

Tripadvisor_kafis2017_Tel Aviv, Israele - 02.08.2017

Wonderful stay in Lugano

We chose the Hotel International au Lac from the good reviews on TripAdvisor and we weren't disappointed. This is a great choice if you want to be centrally located. The staff were welcoming from the moment we arrived, and everything was efficient and homely - this hotel really does feel that it's family run, rather than by a chain. The swimming pool is a real gem in the lovely gardens behind. Can't recommend this hotel highly enough - we loved our wonderful room with the spectacular view over the lake. Sometimes we just wanted to sit on the balcony and enjoy it! We will definitely be back. Many thanks to the Family Schmid and their excellent team.

Tripadvisor_Rae002_Bangkok - 01.08.2017

A wonderful hotel with history, in the heart of Lugano

A great hotel to stay in Lugano! Ideal location, we had a lake view, and the hotel has its own atmosphere, it is over 100 years old, and although the rooms are renovated and the hotel looks rich and well maintained, they respect its history, there is a 100 year museum with very interesting items (old hoovers, old sewing machines, old letters, telephones, etc). There is even a Belle Epoque room, which we didn't have time to see, unfortunately. The building itself has architectural and historical interest.
And also there is a nice swimming pool, beautiful gardens and loats of cosy old-style rooms where you can relax and enjoy tea or coffee with a newspaper and go back in time and thoroughly relax! Breakfast was good, and the staff very friendly.

Booking.com_(CY) - 17.07.2017

Wonderfull stay at Lugano

The people are very kind, the view from the bar is unique, the breakfast is more than great and different every day. The hotel is at the same time warm and luxurious and exquisite.
The room clean, silent, and beautiful. I am in love with International au Lac.
The perfect spot for your stay in Lugano.

Tripadvisor_Maria Alejandra T Caracas, Venezuela - 05.07.2017

Updated, chic hotel in best location

This hotel was recently updated with excellent room amenities. The location is superb, since everything is within walking distance along the waterfront promenade or through pedestrianized streets. We received a free Ticino transportation ticket from the hotel, which enable us to travel nearly anywhere by train, bus, cable, etc., so we took advantage of these services to see Locarno, Lake Como, Ponte Tresa, Casalano, Paradiso and more. Fantastic area for people watching from models to locals. Hotel front desk team tried to be helpful with directions. Book a corner room with a balcony and you will certainly enjoy!

Tripadvisor_Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida - 21.06.2017

Charming place, with personal service

I wasn't expecting too much, but actually this was a lovely hotel to stay in. There is an air of faded glamour, but this is more than made up for by the friendly personal service,
helpful staff, comfortable rooms and great breakfast. Would definitely visit again!

Tripadvisor_Edimburgo, Regno Unito - 15.06.2017

Very enjoyable stay in a hotel with charm and history

We spent 3 nights in this hotel and enjoyed very minute of it. The location is excellent: In walking distance to all sightseeing places of Lugano and the hotel was convenient, clean and reasonably priced. We also like the breakfast buffet. All in all a memorable stay.

Tripadvisor_PeterMarro Manila, Filippine - 13.06.2017

Ideal location

Set back slightly from the road along the lake, this is an ideal spot for nearby restaurants and for the boats that sail Lake Lugano. The stairs have many interesting items from the hotel's history. Rooms are comfortable, breakfast is good. The swimming pool was a nice place to cool down particularly on the hot day that we were there. Very helpful staff, ready with advice when required. Happy to highly recommend this place.

Tripadvisor_NeilNelson Evesham - 13.06.2017

Great choice for Lugano

This hotel is in an ideal location for touring Lugano and in a beautiful spot right across the street from the lake. All the major sights are within easy walking distance. The rooms were very comfortable and the breakfast above average. The property itself is like a museum with many interesting artifacts throughout- especially if you walk the stairs. Outdoor pool and sitting area is ideal to unwind after a busy day. The parking garage is right on the premises. We rented a boat right across the street from the hotel for 75 francs and took a leisurely tour around the lake - highly recommended and it requires minimal boating skills. There is a funicular ride up Mount Bre which is a bit expensive but if you have a car you can drive almost to the top at no cost as there is free parking a 20 minute walk from the summit. The walk is a bid difficult and require some level of fitness. Highly rated restaurant La Tinera was mediocre but we did enjoy Galleria Trattoria Pizzeria.

Tripadvisor_MartinAB - 02.06.2017

Relaxing family holiday

Hotel International au Lac gave us everything we were looking for on our family trip to Lugano. We had the family suite which was large and quiet. It didn't have a view of the lake but it was close to the pool and play area which was better for our kids. Since the lake can be seen from many other public areas of the hotel we didn't mind. The service was wonderful from the great buffet breakfast to drinks on the bar balcony looking at the lake. The hotel has a lot of history to see in the little one room museum (over 100 yrs).
We will stay here again.

Tripadvisor_828mjj, Basilea, Svizzera - 01.06.2017

Great location and old world charm

We stayed here for two nights - loved Lake Lugano and the hotel's great location. We had a newly remodeled room with a small balcony and view of the lake. It is worth the extra expense to get one of these rooms (also had a great remodeled bathroom). Breakfast is very good and all staff are helpful.

Tripadvisor_ Shenandoah32, Washington DC - 24.05.2017

A splendid Hotel! A superb stay!

My wife and I have just returned from our first ever visit to Lugano, where we spent a week and stayed in this very comfortable ideally situated Hotel. Our room was on the third floor on the corner of the Hotel overlooking a large piazza with an uninterrupted view of the Lake. The room and bathroom were spacious, well furnished and well appointed, as was the separate entrance area.
The Hotel is family owned and run, with the fifth generation of the family now running it. Everywhere we saw was beautifully furnished and well maintained with much evidence of family’s tasteful influence. Day to day running was meticulous. Cleanliness and attention to the needs of guests were first class as were the friendly, helpful and attentive staff.
Despite the same family having owned the Hotel for over 110 years, there was no evidence of wear, neglect or tiredness. Whatever needed to be up dated, whether furnishing or fittings, has been done to a very high standard.
An unusual but splendid feature of the Hotel is its large, well cared for, terraced garden at the rear with a reasonably sized swimming pool on an upper terrace and two or three self contained areas for quieter relaxation. Once in the garden, we stayed much longer, than intended.
As far as we are concerned, there was nothing negative. It is a lovely place to stay for anyone visiting Lugano.

Tripadvisor_John N S, Louth England - 24.05.2017

Wonderuf and charming!

I just spent a night here after booking it mainly by chance and because of the location. While the location cannot be better indeed, I really also loved the rest of it very, very much: such polite and helpful people (Mr. Shala, many thanks for fetching our wrongly parked car!), great room and truly fantastic breakfast. If you can, splurge for the room with a lake view, but even my room looking to the back had a great view as this is such a wonderful place like Lugano. I think for the luxury it offers the price is great and I also think this must be the most luxurious 3star hotel I have ever seen. I will come back as soon as I can and spend more than a night, that's for sure. Just simply GREAT!was nothing negative. It is a lovely place to stay for anyone visiting Lugano.

Tripadvisor_Sasch, Amsterdam - 24.05.2017

The most luxurious *** I ever stayed in

Amazing service location and room. Loved the staff -helpful and kind-loved the breakfast.The rooms are all quor and with high ceilings excellent position. Last but not least there ia a lovely external pool. just the best!!

Tripadvisor_sofia b, Ginevra, Svizzera - 17.05.2017

A Sophisticated delight set in an Ideal Location

We broke our journey from Interlaken to Venice with a single night's stay here - that was the only fault and it was ours. A delightful setting in a convenient location - helped considerably by the discovery of the funicular to the station. The level of sophisticated luxury made our short stay a very pleasant one and the breakfast was a veritable feast of delights with such a wide range of foods to choose from. The bar was well supplied and the Easter Egg was a nice touch. It is the sort of hotel that you find and then are determined to travel back to for a restful holiday where all your needs are catered for.

Tripadvisor_Rossergruffydd, Glasgow, Regno Unito - 21.04.2017

Hotel which turns back time..

Beautiful, well preserved hotel with a peaceful and relaxing garden terrace by the pool in the perfect location where you can take walks by the lake or on the pedestrian of the shopping district. Breakfast was perfect as well. The perfect place for a peaceful vacation..

Tripadvisor_BB3435,Istanbul, Turchia - 02.04.2017

Best choice in the heart of Lugano

Unesco's monument hotel, best location with a parking place just on the basement, Huge rooms styled with charm of 70's !!
A surprising huge relaxing garden with a nice pool is waiting to play chess together with a 18yrs(and over) single malt & cigar talk...
Breakfast is ok without surprises in a huge hall.
Walking distance to everything!!!! Price less than any other!
Not all rooms with lake view but south rooms overlooking the lake offering petit balconies to share romantic evenings.
Unfortunately a season hotel... April to October :-(

Tripadvisor_CKreisen - 16.11.2016

Lake View on our Patio over rooftop of the Church Santa Maria degli Angeli

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel - with a mediocre welcome - no info - our room 585 was not ready. But such a beautiful day - time for a walk along promenade to Piazza della Riforma. The Hotel is beautiful - very well preserved. Our room was in a very nice location. The little balcony with view was terrific - we could see the funicular (old) a set of stairs where we people continue to walk ( or sprint !!) up and down ... The breakfast was delicious - a wonderful selection.. This hotel is at the end of the pedestrian (shopping and restaurant area - via Nassa) no need for a car. The local Bus #4 takes you to and from Train Station or Lugano Centro.
Room Tip: Room 585 small balcony with nice view of lake and roof top of adjacent church.

Tripadvisor_RiverbendTX - 03.11.2016

Perfect location, easy to find

We were driving through Lugano and decided to spend the night. We had no reservation and didn't know the city at all, so we 'happened' upon the Hotel International au Lac as we drove along the shores of the lake. So glad we did! The parking is right on sight, breakfast was delicious and included, and it's location is perfectly situated for everything.
Room Tip: We had a room with a small balcony overlooking the lake. Ask for one.

Tripadvisor_brenda49 - 19.10.2016

Very authentic Switzerland

We enjoyed this hotel very much. Throughout the hotel they have pictures that show how it was built how the town looked, who built the hotel. History throughout the entire hotel. It is literally across the street from Lake Lugano and shopping. All the shopping was very upscale just like all of Switzerland. Room was cozy. Every room throughout Switzerland we booked double but they are two twin beds pushed together so we figured thats just how it is, little stuff. Breakfast was very good with american eggs and meat along with the pastries and of course espresso or american coffee. Free WIFI, important to us. I would definitely stay here again.

Tripadvisor_takemeaway50 - 14.10.2016

Lakeside with pool and personalized service

Spacious, clean, historic and charming. Public areas are amazing with a service personnel unbelievably attentive and courteous. Location (via Nassa) excellent for shopping, walking and provides a quiet oasis convenient to the Piazza della Riforma. Extraordinary breakfast buffet. Room Tip: Higher floors seemed quieter.

Tripadvisor_DAN S - 30.09.2016

“the most luxurious *** i ever stayed in”

Amazing service location and room. Loved the staff -helpful and kind-loved the breakfast.The rooms are all quort and with high ceilings excellent position. Last but not least there ia a lovely external pool. just the best!!

sofia b Geneva, via tripadvisor - 14.05.2017

Great location, friendly staff, comfortable room

We stayed 2 nights and found the location to be ideal. Next door to Chiesa di Santa Maria degli Angeli and the steps up where the old funicular, very close to the LAC Cultural Arts center and an easy walk to shops, restaurants, boat tours. If you don't need modern luxury this is a well priced gem.

Tripadvisor_Kathy F - 17.10.2016

Elegant hotel with gracious service and delightful amenities

The Hotel International au Lac has been run by the same family for years, and their attention to guests is obvious in so many ways. The rooms and common areas are clean and modernized, but still in the traditional style. It was hot in Lugano, and the large pool was a welcome treat at the end of the day. It is in a lovely courtyard with shade and comfortable seating. There is table tennis, a giant chess set, and other amenities to keep youngsters occupied. The rooms are spacious and air-conditioned. We had a top floor room at the side of the hotel, and a balcony with a partial view of the lake. The breakfast room is elegant, and the offerings varied and plentiful. The staff at the front desk were helpful in making reservations and giving directions. The hotel location is right across the street from the lake promenade and next door to the high-end shops. I highly recommend this hotel.
Room Tip: Top floor rooms have balconies.

Tripadvisor_SusanI297 - 11.10.2016

Bellissimo !!!!!!!!

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel International au Lac for four nights whilst on a rail tour through Europe, we had a lovely room on the first floor overlooking the piazza and lake and instantly felt comfortable and welcome on arrival.The hotel although old didn't show this and lacked no modern amenities, our bedroom was both comfortable and stylish with the bathroom being one of the best on our tour. Breakfast was a mixture of continental and cooked items with lovely fresh bread, rolls, cakes and croissants, fruit, nuts, dates and figs etc. so no one could have left the breakfast room hungry !!!!!!!. The staff were both friendly and helpful and our fear of language problems were unfounded. Although we didn't use them ourselves the gardens and swimming pool were excellent too. If you've never been to Lugano before, "BEWARE", it becomes your friend and you don't want to leave it. All in all Lugano and the Hotel International au Lac were a delight to visit.............thank you !!!!!!!

Tripadvisor_Stuart H - 30.09.2016